Course Details

Department of English

The Department of English was established in 1975. The following courses are offered by the Department: General English, Human Values and Professional Ethics, English Communication Proficiency, Communication and Soft Skills to B.A, B.B.A, B.C.A, B.Com and B.Sc Programmes.

Sri. P. Nageswara Rao and Sri V. Mohan Prasad were the pioneers who established the Department. Sri V. Mohan Prasad headed the Department and contributed immensely to literature. He is a renowned Telugu poet, critic and translator. His publications range from volumes of Telugu Poetry, literary appreciation, and translations of Telugu poetry into English and vice-versa. After his retirement, he took up the role of Director, in the translation wing of Dravidian University where he organized translations of about a hundred classic works from regional languages into English. He is a recipient of several awards. He received Life time achievement award from Telugu University. The following faculty members joined the Department: Sri K. Satyanarayana 1982, Sri K.J.R. Prasad Babu 1983, Sri M. Pratapa Rao 1997, Sri J.S. C. Bose 2001, Sri B.V. Rami Reddy 2003, Sri G. Bhanu Prasad 2005, B. Tirupathi Rao, Ch. Sudheer, Smt. R. Deepa 2006, Dr. S. Srinivas Rao 2008.

The Post Graduate Department of English was incepted in the year 1995. Prof. S. Krishna Sarma Retired from Acharya Nagarjuna University, and Dr. P. Hari Padma Rani taught for the first batch of M.A English students. The following year Dr. P. Hari Padma Rani joined Sri Padmavathi Mahila Vishwa Vidyalayam, Tirupati. Prof. V. Rangan Retired from Acharya Nagarjuna University, Headed the Department in the year 1996 and rendered his dedicated service to the Department for a decade. Prof. V. Rangan, an eminent scholar has nurtured the students and faculty with his extraordinary scholarship in Shakespeare, British literature, Literary Theories and Criticism. The Department flourished well under his esteemed guidance and good support. The following members joined the Department: Dr. G. Srilatha, Dr. T. Sarada, Dr. N. Usha, Dr. K. Padmaja, and Dr. C. Sharada. Dr. K. Padmaja was recruited in Government Degree College as a lecturer. Most of the faculty members were actively engaged in research and acquired Doctoral degrees during their service in the college and are placed in various Universities. Dr. T. Sarada was recruited as an Associate Professor in Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupathi, Dr. N. Usha was recruited as an Associate Professor in Krishna University, Dr. C. Sarada was recruited as an Assistant Professor in Nizam College, Hyderabad.

Since 2009 Dr. G. Srilatha is the Head of the Department. She is active in research and is widely published. She is guiding a U.G.C sponsored Post Doctoral Scholar. She visited Melbourne, Australia and has wide exposure to multi cultural literary studies. She interacted with the natives and participated in exhibitions of aborigine and their traditional festival meets. She visited National Art Gallery, Jewish Synagogues, Museum and Libraries in Melbourne and Sydney. She is a member of the Board of Studies for Krishna University and A.G & S. G College of Arts & Science, Vuyyuru.

Sri. K. Narasimha Rao, retired Lecturer, Sathavahana Degree College, Vijayawada, joined the Department of English in 2001. He has good expertise in teaching Literary Criticism and Phonetics. He is a source of inspiration and motivation to the students. His vast knowledge, love for literature and academic excellence is noteworthy to mention.

Dr. K. Santha Kumari joined the Department in 2008 completed her M.Phil, Ph.D from Acharya Nagarjuna University and did her Post Graduate Diploma in Communicative English from University of Hyderabad and passed in distinction. Ongoing research and updating the literary knowledge, ICT based teaching; peer group teaching are the assets of the Department.

Earlier, the College was affiliated to Nagarjuna University, later in 2009 the affiliation status shifted to Krishna University, Machilipatnam. In the year 2017 the college attained the status of Autonomous. Students with Bachelor Degree B.A./B.Sc./B.Com./B.B.M/ B.C.A./ B.A.(O.L.) in Telugu /B.A. (O.L.) Sanskrit with general English, Degree in Hotel Management,(B.A. with special English in the group subjects) are eligible. The intake of M.A English Programme is 40.

M.A English Programme is for two years, in four semesters. In each semester there are five theory papers and one practical. The course offers opportunities to explore literature and language across cultures. The course inspires the students to read different texts and develop aesthetic appreciation for English literature and language. The following courses are studied. British Literature, American Literature, Indian Writings in English, New Literatures in English enriches awareness on literature. History of English Language, Phonetics, and English Language Teaching broadens ones understanding in language. Literary Criticism and theories enables the students to appreciate the texts and interpret critically. Practice Communication Skills is a Lab course that trains students to equip with effective communication skills, soft skills and life skills.

The students are motivated to be responsible citizens and the faculty put efforts to make every student humane. The Department of English strives for enrichment of the language and provides in depth aesthetic knowledge and an eagerness to appreciate the language in its ingenuity to the students. The Department has a wide focus with special emphasis on an interdisciplinary approach which brings in a huge amount of exposure for a critical ability of consequence for the students.